Colts Announce Practice Squad Today


In addition to a flurry of other moves today, the Indianapolis Colts announced their 10 player practice squad on Sunday:

"The Indianapolis Colts today signed the following 10 players to the practice squad: OLB-Daniel Adongo, G-David Arkin, WR-Quan Bray, WR-Duron Carter, T-Ulrick John, S-Dewey McDonald, ILB-Josh McNary, CB-Eric Patterson, DT-Jeris Pendleton and TE-Erik Swoope."

Obviously, there are some familiar faces on the Colts practice squad. Defensive players such as safety Dewey McDonald and inside linebacker Josh McNary (recently acquitted of rape charge) were members of last year’s active roster, while Daniel Adongo, David Arkin, and Jeris Pendleton have also been active as Colts previously.

However, the team also did well to retain a developmental practice squad holdover in Erik Swoope, while retaining two of its training camp rookie standouts in wideouts Duron Carter and Quan Bray.

Otherwise, it’s a bit surprising to see that the Colts are not carrying a 3rd quarterback like Bryan Bennett, who played extensively in preseason, on their practice squad for developmental purposes. Currently, the team has just Andrew Luck and Matt Hasselbeck as the only quarterbacks within the organization.

It’ll be interesting to see if the team looks to eventually stash this year’s 6th round pick Amarlo Herrera, who was released from the 53-man roster today, on the practice squad if he clears waivers. Of course, such a move would come at the expense of another player on the practice squad.

As rosters and practice squads are still being altered around the NFL, this practice squad group is likely far from being a finished product. It seems very likely that a change or two could still be made before the season starts next weekend.

More from Horseshoe Heroes