Two Former Indianapolis Colts Make Finalist List for 2014 Pro Football Hall of Fame


Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

The legacy of NFL legends continues…

On Thursday, 15 former NFL greats were named as finalists for enshrinement into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Two members of the finalist list were former members of the Indianapolis Colts. The entire list is loaded and varied, by both player positions and coaches.

The two former Indianapolis Colts that were named to the Hall of Fame finalst list were former head coach Tony Dungy, as well as WR – Marvin Harrison. Dungy and Harrison were a part of the Colts together from 2002 through 2008, and won a Super Bowl title in 2006. Both men were named as Hall of Fame finalists in their first year of elegibility.

Prior to becoming the head coach of the Colts, Dungy was the head coach of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, from 1996-2001. Dungy also had assistant coaching jobs with the Pittsburgh Steelers, Minnesota Vikings, and Kansas City Chiefs. Dungy also played as a defensive back in the NFL for four years, winning Super Bowl XII, as a member of the Steelers.

Harrison was drafted by the Colts in the 1st round (19th overall) of the 1196 NFL Draft. Harrison his entire career with the Colts, and was voted to the Pro Bowl eight times. His 143 receptions in 2002 are an NFL record, and starting his career with 190 consecutive games with a reception is also a record. Harrison and Peyton Manning currently hold all-time NFL records for tandem touchdowns, yards, and receptions.

The rest of the Hall of Fame finalist list is as follows:

Morten Andersen
Jerome Bettis
Derrick Brooks
Tim Brown
Edward DeBartolo 
Kevin Greene
Charles Haley 
Walter Jones
John Lynch
Andre Reed
Will Shields
Michael Strahan
Aeneas Williams