Chuck Pagano Honored With George S. Halas Courage Award


Chuck Pagano, head coach of the Indianapolis Colts, has been named the honoree for the 2013 George S. Halas Courage Award. The award, voted on by the Professional Football Writers Association, is awarded to an NFL player, coach, or staff member for overcoming adversity.

Pagano was diagnosed with treatable leukemia last October, and returned healthy enough in December, to finish up the regular season for the Colts. Pagano is still in treatment, to prevent any future health issues, but has now returned at full strength, to lead his team full-time. 2013 will mark Pagano’s second season as head coach of the Colts, but will also be his first full season at the helm of this team.

The award is presented to the honoree for performing with abandon, despite injury or personal problems. Pagano joins former NFL players, staff, and coaches who have received the Courage Award, dating back nearly 50 years. Other honorees include wide receiver Gayle Sayers, quarterback Joe Montana,  guard Mark Schlereth, owner Robert Kraft, and quarterback Drew Brees. Former Indianapolis Colts coach Tony Dungy is also a former Courage Award winner.